Installing a Samsung ML-1915 Laserprinter

Finished installing our new Samsung ML-1915 laserprinter tonight, on Ubuntu 9.10 (64bit) used as our terminal server. I started by downloading and unpacking the Universal Linux driver, which turned out to be pretty useless (requires QT, which I don’t have installed on the server).

Using a Gentoo How-to for guidance, I copied the “rastertosamsungspl” filter (found under [unpack-directory of the driver]/cdroot/Linux/x86_64/at_root/usr/lib64/cups/filter) to /usr/lib64/cups/filter (since this is a 64bit server).

I then followed the steps (from step number 3) described for Arch Linux, here.

And, wazaam, it all worked like a charm. Printed testpage and some stuff on Python ASN.1.

About magvar

Technical guy, worked with computers since I was twelve, complete nerd, but managed to get married and am now the happy father of three kids.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Installing a Samsung ML-1915 Laserprinter

  1. I simply cannot make it work…I have tried 3 differen guides to install this printer…it just doesn’t work.

    I’m a total newbie to Linux, and I’m on Ubuntu 10.10 64-bit

    Can you help me?

  2. magvar says:

    Nikolaj, I replied via the email address you left.

  3. A says:

    what do u do for 32 bit?

Leave a Reply

