Chasing hardware

I’m desperately looking for an extra server, to be run as a back-up server in case there are problems with the main terminal server, or if I want to experiment (for example with the jOpenRay, or with Open Rate). And… I’m a nerd. I need more servers!

Found a “server” with specs matching my requirements on Tradera (Swedish eBay eq.), but so far I’ve missed on all three attempts I’ve made. What I’m looking for is either an IBM/Lenovo ThinkCentre M55 (Core2 Duo, 1.86-2.33 GHz) or a HP DC7800p (C2D, 2.66GHz). These are desktop machines, but since I already use a Lenovo ThinkCentre as my terminal server… They’re durable machines, and once I hit performance maximum, I can put a Quad in the one I’ve got, and move its CPU to the back-up server.

A good friend brought me a whole bunch of older 1GB ECC RAM sticks, and since the M55s and DC7800ps can both take 4GB, this should make them pretty good for my needs. And they run S-ATA disks.

Prices, right now in the middle of summer, have ended up being around 1,300-1,400 SEK (below USD 200), which makes them a good deal. Had I had more money, I’d have tried buying several more and with accompanying flat screens, one per kid. But hey, I’ve got my SunRays! They’ll last. 🙂

So, another auction tonight, and probably yet another tomorrow night! I’ll need luck and determination. Most bids are made within those last sixty seconds…

About magvar

Technical guy, worked with computers since I was twelve, complete nerd, but managed to get married and am now the happy father of three kids.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

