jOpenRay labs (part 1 of N)

Having installed the new server yesterday, I felt like testing the jOpenRay software. This is to become a “drop in” replacement for the SunRay Server Software I’ve got running our house terminals at the moment, so I had to try it out. I love a good Beta. 😉

The installation isn’t complex at all, it’s just a matter of downloading the software, unpacking the zip and running the server, as specified in the documentation.

Now, the problem is that, from what I can tell, the jOpenRay requires X to be running. Not kosher for my servers. To get it running, I logged in using ssh -X from a client and started a remote xterm, and got the GUI up and running that way.

Now I need to change the DHCP server (running on the firewall, another Linux server) to send a specific SunRay terminal to the new server. That’ll be tomorrow nights experiment.

About magvar

Technical guy, worked with computers since I was twelve, complete nerd, but managed to get married and am now the happy father of three kids.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

