Virtualized life

A while ago I set up a virtual server, using kvm, which was very easy.

All I had to do was log in to my host server with ssh -Y , and then start the virt-manager & to be able to do things graphically, over vpn.

Worked really smoothly. I’m right now using that server as a repository for my code, and a server which is actually able to connect to work over vpn. So, if I’m going to do things in shell (which I seem to do quite a bit) at work, all I have to do is log on to my projserv, activate the Cisco VPN (an open sourced version) via vpnc-connect and… I’m inside the corporate network, leaving the lap-top I’m connecting to projserv with entirely on my own network. Means that I don’t spend valuable corporate network resources streaming my music. 😉

Next step is virtualizing my pfSense router on the same machine (since it has two network interfaces), possibly retiring the old VIA mini-ITX dedicated device serving as a router at the moment. With two servers running 24/7, one serving the SunRay terminals in the house and the other being the virtual server host mentioned above, having a dedicated, physical, router feels entirely wrong. Besides, I haven’t tried virtualizing a pfSense instance before, so it’s a fun challenge. 😛

But first, it’s time to get the multimedia machine, an old Lenovo desktop machine (perfect, since it’s really quiet and keeps cool) with 2GB RAM, back online. I put a PCI graphics card with 512MB RAM in it, but since the VGA/RGB cable can’t be fit anymore, I have to do something fun to get it to use the HDMI interface from boot. Just wondering what.

Oh well, time to reinstall this trusty “old” lap-top. Did a dist-upgrade to 11.04, but since I’ve messed it up quite a bit over the past two years it didn’t really like that. Even had to do a (horror) involuntary reboot today! Hasn’t happened in…. well…. it’s been a long, long time…

About magvar

Technical guy, worked with computers since I was twelve, complete nerd, but managed to get married and am now the happy father of three kids.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

